Some Real Nuggets On New Clapton Documentary Soundtrack

The recent Eric Clapton documentary Life In 12 Bars should be essential viewing for every Rock fan. You really get a sense of the enormity of Clapton’s contributions to Rock. It’s amazing to realize he was at or near the cutting edge of Rock’s stylistic evolution from the early Sixties all the way through the late Seventies, and it’s astonishing to think he did it while a member of at least six different bands before evolving even more as a solo artist. But being a Rock God takes a helluva toll, and the movie doesn’t hold back on the serious difficulties Clapton went through over the years. It is quite a story.

It’s just been announced that documentary will be available for purchase in June, but the really exciting news is that a companion soundtrack album will be released alongside it, and the tracklisting provides a fabulous sweep of that 15-or-so-year span when Eric was God. It’s got tracks from the Yardbirds, the Bluesbreakers, Cream, Blind Faith, Delaney & Bonnie & Friends, and Derek and The Dominoes. The album also includes treats like his recordings with Aretha Franklin and the Beatles (“While My Guitar Gently Weeps”), plus alternate versions of “After Midnight” and “Let It Rain”.

Best of all there are five more unreleased tracks on the album and they all look like doozies. There’s a 17-minute version of “Spoonful” from Cream’s 1968 farewell tour which promises to generate acid flashbacks even if you’ve never taken acid. There’s the wilder, full-length version of “I Shot The Sheriff”, live versions of Hendrix’s “Little Wing” and Chuck Berry’s “Little Queenie”, plus a recently unearthed Derek and The Dominoes track “High”.

Sponsored link (story continues below)

In a really nice touch, the album opens with tracks from blues legends Big Bill Broonzy and Muddy Waters, that catalysts that fired this Rock Pioneer into motion all those years ago. This really excellent documentary and companion CD will hit the shelves on June 8, be sure to take a look.

Life in 12 Bars Track List

Disc 1
1. Big Bill Broonzy – “Backwater Blues”
2. Muddy Waters – “My Life Is Ruined”
3. Muddy Waters – “I Got Mojo Working” (Live At Newport Jazz Festival 1960)
4. The Yardbirds – “I Wish You Would”
5. The Yardbirds – “For Your Love”
6. John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers – “Steppin’ Out”
7. John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers – “All Your Love”
8. Cream – “I Feel Free”
9. Cream – “Strange Brew”
10. Cream – “Sunshine of Your Love”
11. Aretha Franklin – “Good to Me As I Am To You”
12. Cream – “Crossroads”
13. The Beatles – “While My Guitar Gently Weeps”
14. Cream – “Badge”
15. Cream – “White Room (Live)”
16. Cream – “Spoonful (Live from Goodbye tour – LA Forum October 19, 1968) *
17. Blind Faith – “Presence Of The Lord”

Disc 2
1. Delaney & Bonnie & Friends featuring Eric Clapton – “Comin’ Home”
2. Eric Clapton – “After Midnight” (alternate mix)
3. Eric Clapton – “Let It Rain” (alternate mix)
4. Derek and The Dominos – “High” *
5. George Harrison – “My Sweet Lord”
6. Derek and The Dominos – “Thorn Tree In The Garden”
7. Derek and The Dominos – “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out”
8. Derek and The Dominos – “Bell Bottom Blues –
9. Derek and The Dominos – “Layla”
10. Derek and The Dominos – “Little Wing (Live at the Fillmore 1970)” *
11. Derek and The Dominos – “Got To Get Better In A Little While”
12. Eric Clapton – “I Shot The Sheriff” (full length version) *
13. Eric Clapton – “Little Queenie” (Long Beach Arena, Long Beach, California, July 19/20, 1974) *
14. Eric Clapton – “Mainline Florida”
15. Eric Clapton – “Tears In Heaven”

* previously unreleased

, ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *