Johnny Cash tribute album featuring Chris Cornell, Elvis Costello on the way

Elvis Costello and the late Chris Cornell will be among several artists participating in the upcoming Johnny Cash tribute album Johnny Cash: Forever Words, for which details were announced earlier today.

The album will feature musical renditions of poems written by Cash previously published in the book Forever Words: The Unknown Poems. The album will be released on April 6.

Below is a look at the track list (via SPIN) along with a look at the other artists involved.

Sponsored link (story continues below)

1. “Forever/I Still Miss Someone” – Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson
2. “To June This Morning” – Ruston Kelly and Kacey Musgraves
3. “Gold All Over the Ground” – Brad Paisley
4. “You Never Knew My Mind” – Chris Cornell
5. “The Captain’s Daughter” – Alison Krauss and Union Station
6. “Jellico Coal Man” – T. Bone Burnett
7. “The Walking Wounded” – Rosanne Cash
8. “Them Double Blues” – John Mellencamp
9. “Body on Body” – Jewel
10. “I’ll Still Love You” – Elvis Costello
11. “June’s Sundown” – Carlene Carter
12. “He Bore It All” – Daily and Vincent
13. “Chinky Pin Hill” – I’m With Her
14. “Goin’, Goin’, Gone” – Robert Glasper featuring Ro James, and Anu Sun
15. “What Would I Dreamer Do?” – The Jayhawks
16. “Spirit Rider” – Jamey Johnson

Check out the trailer for the album below:

“I really tried to feel what he would have thought about it and it felt like a collaboration,” Cash’s daughter Rosanne said in the trailer. “I think he’d be proud of it. I am.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *