Melvins’ Drummer Announces Debut Solo Album, Shares “Little Brother”

Photo credit: Shervin Lainez

Dale Crover, drummer for the Melvins, has streamed “Little Brother” from his forthcoming album, The Fickle Finger of Fate releasing August 4th on Joyful Noise recordings.

“I got the idea to do this record after doing the super limited ‘Skins’ disc,” explains Crover. “The idea was to write new songs that all tie in with drum haikus from ‘Skins.”

The songs on The Fickle Finger of Fate range from weirdo rock to poppy strangeness with psychotic, psychedelic drum grooves as palate cleansers in between.

Sponsored link (story continues below)

The 20-track album, which features several interludes, was co-produced by Crover and longtime producer Toshi Kasai. Crover played the bulk of the instruments on the collection (guitar, keyboards, drums) as well as vocals. Guests include Redd Kross’ Steven McDonald, Dan Southwick (Altamont) and Crover’s adorable 11-year-old daughter Scarlett who assists with violin, percussion and vocals.

You can pre-order the album here. You can see the album art and track listing below.

The Fickle Finger of Fate track list:

1. Chicken Ala King
2. Bad Move
3. The Members Bounce
4. None, No More
5. Hillbilly Math
6. String Bean
7. The Short Con
8. Little Brother
9. Tiny Sound_ I Don’t Know, Why
10. Slide On Up
11. Big ‘Uns
12. Prismo
13. Giant Hunka Cake
14. Fickle Finger of Fate
15. Thunder Pinky
16. Horse Pills
17. There Goes The Neighborhoods
18. Our Supreme Leader
19. I Found The Way Out
20. Vulnavia


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *