The National Announce New Album, Sleep Well Beast, Share First Track

Brooklyn’s The National have finally announced their seventh album Sleep Well Beast, which is the follow up to 2013’s Trouble Will Find Me. It’s out September 8 via 4AD.

You may remember The National from their Grateful Dead Day of the Dead tribute released last year in which guitarists Aaron and Bryce Dessner gathered artists from many different genres to recreate 59 different Dead tracks. What was also great about the project — other than the music — is that Day of the Dead is a benefit for Red Hot, the HIV/AIDS not-for-profit charity. Dig up some of the tracks, you’ll be impressed.

While not a typical band that would float the interest of a majority of Rocknuts fans, give The National a chance. Their albums carry a rock n’ roll beauty that may groups can only aspire to touch. It also helps that their first track off the new album, entitled “The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness” has a more progressive tinge than their previous works. The track can be heard below. Sleep Well Beast can be pre-ordered here.

Sponsored link (story continues below)

Sleep Well Beast:
01 Nobody Else Will Be There
02 Day I Die
03 Walk It Back
04 The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness
05 Born to Beg
06 Turtleneck
07 Empire Line
08 I’ll Still Destroy You
09 Guilty Party
10 Carin at the Liquor Store
11 Dark Side of the Gym
12 Sleep Well Beast

Related Posts

One comment to “The National Announce New Album, Sleep Well Beast, Share First Track”
  1. Pingback: Song of the Day: The National – “Squalor Victoria” (2007) | Rocknuts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *