Above The Underground: What’s New In Music

While I do like to post one-off song shares from artists of today, I thought it would be fun to take a more list-like approach to all the new music being released. My intent for this column is to highlight bigger and smaller new releases from artists of all styles. Artists that Rocknuts readers might not know of — maybe some that you do.

Our first like is quite the smattering of releases — Shoegaze, hookey pop-rock, classic rocker throwbacks, raw and stripped blues, and way-out psychedelics populate this list.

1.Me & Mountains

Sponsored link (story continues below)

Since releasing 2012’s Feral, a lot has changed in the Me & Mountains camp. Children, marriage, and other things that come with living life have helped stall new album Gold, but that wait is almost over. Me & Mountains have since released the albums title track. “Gold” is a simple rocker with a fun, accessible hook. This sound draws off of Weezer with a bit of Radiohead’s Ok Computer thrown in for good measure. Gold will be released sometime in mid 2016.

2.Minor Victories
“Folk Arp”

This song is a real Shoegaze beauty with some heavy hitters. Minor Victories is the supergroup of Slowdive’s Rachel Goswell, Editors’ Justin Lockey, Mogwai’s Stuart Braithwaite, and James Lockey of Hand Held Cine Club. That information alone should get any fan of the genre or these bands excited. “Folk Arp” is a beautiful, even blanket of sound that engulfs the senses. Their debut, self-titled album can be ordered here and releases June 3rd.

3.King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard
“People Vultures”

After hearing Nonagon Infinity’s first single “Gamma Knife,” it became one of my most anticipated albums of the year. King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard have always been a mixed bag of sounds, and with this new album that remains true. Paying homage to artists such as Motörhead, Hawkwind, Deep Purple, and Black Sabbath, King Gizz looks to assemble my dream album. “People Vultures” is a fantastic kick in the ass and only makes me want the end of the month quicker. Nonagon Infinity releases on April 29th; you can order here.

4.Lonesome Shack

“To The Floor”

Lonesome Shack have produced some of my favorite raw blues sounds since the first few Black Keys albums. Their 2014 album More Primitive really struck me with blues sounds that you might hear from Captain Beefheart’s Jukebox. “To The Floor” returns with the same flare that made More Primitive a raw, dirty hit. You can expect Lonesome Shack’s The Switcher to be released on June 24 as they transition to new label Double Vinyl.

“I Sing in Silence”

Goat’s Commune is an album that I really should have paid more attention to at the time. While we’re not getting a full album just yet, Goat is putting out a new 7-inch via Sub Pop. “I Sing in Silence” shows Goat in a more stripped down, acoustic manner. Even with a acoustic sound Goat still manage a rarely heard psychedelic groove that reminds you why they’re a force to be reckoned with in the psych space. The two new tracks/7-inch releases on May 27th and can be ordered here.

Bun E. Carlos
“Do Something Real” – Featuring Robert Pollard

Let it be said that Robert Pollard (Guided By Voices) never has any down time. Robert Pollard joins Bun E Carlos who up until now had laid pretty low since being replaced in the touring lineup several years ago, but that’s about to change. Carlos has announced his first solo effort, Greetings from Bunezuela!. With that we are brought the first rocker “Do Something Real” which was written and performed by the GBV frontman. Nothing too special, but damn if it isn’t a simple catchy rocker. One of Pollard’s best qualities I’d say. Welcome to Bunezuela! is due in stores June 24.

, ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *