News: Hear Cobain’s Early Demo Of “Been A Son”

montageofheckrecordingsIf you’re a rock fan, then it’s probably possible that you’ve heard of filmmaker Brett Morgen’s documentary “Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck.” The title takes its name from a musical collage that was created by Cobain with a four-track cassette recorder in 1988, of which there are two versions.

Along with the documentary, a soundtrack of the film is being released. Entitled “Kurt Cobain: Montage Of Heck: The Home Recordings,” it’s a collection of demos, covers, and unreleased material. You can find an early demo recording of Nirvana’s “Been A Son” below.

Sponsored link (story continues below)

For the more hardcore fans, the “Kurt Cobain: Montage Of Heck Super Deluxe Edition” will be released with many materials, including the two-hour-plus full-length feature film and 48 minutes of bonus interviews on Blu-ray and DVD, a 31-track deluxe soundtrack on CD and cassette, a 160-page hardbound book with extended interviews and images from the Cobain archive, a puzzle with a collectible storage container, movie poster, postcards and bookmark. The track listing for both editions can be seen below.

Standard edition:

01. The Yodel Song
02. Been A Son
03. The Happy Guitar
04. Clean Up Before She Comes
05. Reverb Experiment
06. You Can’t Change Me/ Burn My Britches/Something In The Way
07. Scoff
08. Desire
09. And I Love Her
10. Sappy
11. Letters To Frances
12. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle
13. She Only Lies

Deluxe edition:

01. The Yodel Song
02. Been A Son (early demo)
03. What More Can I Say
04. 1988 Capitol Lake Jam Commercial
05. The Happy Guitar
06. Montage Of Kurt
07. Beans
08. Burn The Rain
09. Clean Up Before She Comes (early demo)
10. Reverb Experiment
11. Montage Of Kurt II
12. Rehash
13. You Can’t Change Me/Burn My Britches/Something In The Way (early demo)
14. Scoff (early demo)
15. Aberdeen
16. Bright Smile
17. Underground Celebritism
18. Retreat
19. Desire
20. And I Love Her
21. Sea Monkeys
22. Sappy (early demo)
23. Letters To Frances
24. Scream
25. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle (demo)
26. Kurt Ambiance
27. She Only Lies
28. Kurt Audio Collage
29. Poison’s Gone
30. Rhesus Monkey
31. Do Re Mi (medley)

One comment to “News: Hear Cobain’s Early Demo Of “Been A Son””
  1. This makes me think of how we always view celebs as overnight successes. He’d been playing these songs for a long time!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *